Fans believe France should be crowned world champions for the third time.
Football fans contend that Argentina’s third goal against France shouldn’t have been allowed to stand. Les Bleus should have won the championship for the third time.
Messi scored his second goal to make it 3-2 by bundling the ball over the goal line. It’s after Hugo Lloris parried Lautaro Martinez’s shot.
Although Martinez appeared to be onside, replays revealed that he was exactly in line with the final defender. The ball had crossed the line when Jules Kounde attempted to clear it again.
However, there was no controversy. Viewers believe the goal should have been chalked off. It’s because some of Argentina’s substitutes were already on the field when the ball crossed the line.
“How did #VAR miss that,” one person asked, “with Argentina substitutes on the field and the goal already in?”
“Just looked at the third Argentina goal. Three substitutes were on the field before the ball crossed the line,” another remarked. Why shouldn’t that be forbidden?
Another commenter asked. “Should it have counted with two Argentina substitutes on the field as the ball crossed the line?”
A fourth voice was heard: “Argentina substitutes on the field before the ball is in. Any rule violation here @FIFAWorldCup.”
A fifth remarked, “Argentina subs on the field before the ball was in the net?”
“Before Messi’s shot crosses the goal line. The substitutes for Argentina have already stepped onto the playing field. In other words, there were 13 players on the field when he scored. This goal shouldn’t have stood with VAR in place.”
According to IFAB rules, “play is restarted with a direct free kick from the position of the extra person” if the extra person was a player, substitute, substituted player, sent-off player, or team official of the team that scored the goal.”
The rule does state that “if, after a goal is scored and play has restarted, the referee realizes an additional person was on the field of play at the time the player scored the goal, the goal cannot be disallowed.”